Club News‎ > ‎

Confey College Win Schools Final

posted 25 Feb 2015, 08:58 by Sean O'Maoileoin

2014 /15 Dublin Post Primary Schools Senior Football - C Final

(Tuesday 24th February 2015, 2pm at Lorcan O’Toole Park, Crumlin GAA)

Confey Community College 1-09 v 0-11 Scoil Chaitriona, Glasnevin

Displaying P1000183.JPG

Confey College travelled to Lorcan O’Toole Park, Crumlin to contest this Dublin Post Primary Schools Senior Football C Final versus Scoil Chaitriona, Glasnevin on Tuesday 24th Feb.

A heavy shower of rain just prior to the throw in made playing conditions wet under foot and ball handling difficult. The first half was an extremely tight affair with both teams evenly matched and this translated to the scoreboard. Scoil Chaitriona scored first and looked dangerous in the early minutes only for Confey College to equalise after midfielder Ciarán Lyons broke a couple of tackles only to see his powerful shot at goal tipped over for a point. Confey College matched their opponents next two points from Andrew Doolan and Joe Kilbane and, despite having difficulty handling the wet ball, took a 4 points to 3 lead when Dean Malone’s shot from distance split the post. Scoil Chaitriona leveled the game soon after and when a sustained period of pressure from Confey College resulted in a close in free, converted by Kilbane only for the scoreline to be leveled again . The first half saw both defences on top with the Confey College full back line of Eoin Whitson, Diarmaid and Eoghan Reynolds first to most balls and well on top of their opponents.

Half Time Score; Confey College 0-5 v 0-5 Scoil Chaitriona

Confey College Bainisteoir Karl O’Dwyer made one change at half time which saw Peter Burke enter the full forward line to give the Confey attacks more focus and indeed the whole team stepped up their performance’s from the throw in with Joe Kilbane scoring two points either side of a Scoil Chaitriona pointed free.

The Confey half back line of David Farrell, Conor Dennehy and Matthew Kennedy were now dominating and pushing forward to support the midfield and attack resulting in Conor Dennehy taking possession of the ball high up the field and scoring Confey’s eight point and the two point lead was at this stage of the game the most that either team has lead by. As a result of the possession won by the Confey College half backs and midfield the Confey forwards of Eoin Dennehy, Imad Mizra and Jack Cosgrove had much more of the ball and caused the Scoil Chaitriona defence a lot of problems. Just after Scoil Chaitriona pulled back another score to leave the minimum between the sides the most defining moment of the game occurred when, with ten minutes remaining, a long ball into the Scoil Chaitriona defence, towards Burke, led to two defenders collide and the ball ricochet off one of them to slowly and agonisingly roll past the goalkeeper and over the line for a goal giving Confey College a 1-8 to 7 point lead entering the closing stages of the game. Scoil Chaitriona responded very well and scored the next two points before Peter Burke pointed for Confey College leaving a goal between the sides with four minutes remaining. These final minutes were played out in typical final style with Scoil Chaitriona desperately attacking the Confey goals scoring two further points to leave a one point lead for Confey College now desperately defending a one point lead.

Finally, and to the relief of the players and supporters, the referee blew for full time to give the win and cup to the Confey College players.

Best for Confey College on the day were Conor Dennehy and Diarmaid Reynolds in defence, Andrew Doolan in midfield and Joe Kilbane in the forwards. Both Confey GAA and Lucan Sarsfields GAA were represented admirably by their players.

Full Time Score; Confey College 1-9 v 0-11 Scoil Chaitriona

Confey College now qualify to compete in the 2014/15 Leinster Post Primary Schools Senior Football C Final versus Ardscoil Rath Iomghain, Rathangan and must be confident of adding a provincial title for their efforts.

Displaying P1000188.JPG

Confey College Team; Seán Nolan, Eoin Whitson, Diarmaid Reynolds, Eoghan Reynolds, David Farrell, Conor Dennehy (0-1), Matthew Kennedy, Ciarán Lyons (0-1), Andrew Doolan (0-1), Eoin Dennehy, Joe Kilbane (0-4 1f), Imad Mizra, Dean Malone (0-1), Glen Purtill, Jack Cosgrove. Sub’s; Peter Burke (0-1), Ben Kelly, Conor Farrell, Alan O’Reilly, Evan Prendergast, Charlie Roe, Ross McManus.

Displaying P1000185 (1).JPG